Skip to Content

About Olmsted Medical Center

Olmsted Medical Center (OMC), a 501(c)3 non-profit organization, has been southeastern Minnesota’s hometown healthcare provider since 1949. OMC’s 160 clinicians join over 1,200 other healthcare professionals serving at 20 locations, including two multi-specialty clinics, a Level IV trauma hospital with 24-hour emergency room, two FastCare retail clinics in Rochester Shopko stores, two Acute Care clinics, two pharmacies, a Skyway Clinic in downtown Rochester, and 11 community branch clinics.

OMC has more than 35 specialties and is best known for its convenient, quality personal care. Each year, the Olmsted Medical Center team sees over 316,000 patients, performs over 4,100 major surgical operations, cares for 23,000 patients in our Emergency Care department, and delivers nearly 1,000 babies.

The organization is governed by a Board of Trustees, whose primary function is to see that OMC serves the public interest.


In 2017, Olmsted Medical Center received National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) Level 3 Recognition based on our evidence-based, patient-centered processes.  The NCQA Patient-Centered Medical Home is a model of primary care that combines teamwork and technology to improve care, improve patients’ experience of care, and reduce costs.

Our Mission

The delivery of exceptional patient care focusing on caring, quality, safety, and service.

Our Vision

To be the healthcare provider of choice in our service area by leading in quality, access, and service.

Our Core Values

    • Our patients come first.
    • Every employee is a caregiver.
    • Our employees are the key to our success.
    • OMC is an active, contributing partner in the communities it serves.
    • We have a duty to position and prepare OMC for the future.
DNV Accreditation
OMC Accredited by DNV GL - Healthcare

Olmsted Medical Center was granted full accreditation DNV GL - Healthcare for a three-year term effective December 2016. By earning accreditation, OMC has demonstrated it meets or exceeds patient safety standards set forth by the U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. DNV GL’s accreditation program is the only one to integrate the ISO 9001 Quality Management System with the Medicare Conditions of Participation.

The accreditation program provides a focus on achieving the highest standards of care through quality management and having a continuous improvement system that addresses patient safety and quality of services.

Similar to The Joint Commission and other accrediting organizations, the DNV accrediting surveys uses information from the organization as well as staff and patient interviews to ensure that the organization is compliant with the ISO 9001 standard throughout clinical and non-clinical areas.

For more information about DNV GL hospital accreditation.